Call for CSMS Officer Nominations

The Connecticut State Medical Society presents the roster for the 2017 slate of General Officers of CSMS.  This slate was nominated by the CSMS Nominating Committee on July 28, 2016, in accordance with the process set forth in the CSMS Bylaws.

At the 2015 CSMS Annual Meeting, the CSMS Bylaws were amended to allow any CSMS member in good standing to also submit his/her name for nomination as a General Officer.  If you wish to submit your name for nomination as a General Officer of CSMS, you must submit such nomination, in writing, and delivered either by US Mail, facsimile, or email to:

Matthew C. Katz
Executive Vice President/CEO
127 Washington Avenue
East Building, 3rd Floor
North Haven, CT  06473
Facsimile:  203-492-3836

No late nominations will be accepted.

Below is the slate of nominations as presented by the CSMS Nominating Committee: 

            President* - Jeffrey Gordon, MD, Woodstock

            President-Elect - Steven Thornquist, MD, Bethany

            Vice-President - Robin Oshman, MD, Westport

            Secretary - David J. Hass, MD, Hamden

            Treasurer - Michael J. McNamee, MD, New Britain

            Speaker of the HOD - Mahmoud (Max) Okasha, MD, Norwich

            Vice Speaker of the HOD - Gregory L. Shangold, MD, Willimantic

            Immediate Past President* - Henry E. Jacobs, MD, JD, W. Hartford

*No submissions may be made for the President or the Immediate Past President offices, as the President was elected at the 2015 Annual Meeting.

All nominations received from the CSMS membership, as well as those presented by the CSMS Nominating Committee and any additional nominations from the CSMS Council shall be voted on  during the Business Meeting at the CSMS Annual Meeting, which shall take place at the Omni New Haven Hotel, 155 Temple Street, New Haven, CT, on Wednesday, September 28, 2016.  All CSMS members are welcome to attend the CSMS Annual Meeting.  Registration is required. Nominations for General Officer positions will NOT be accepted from the floor at the Annual Meeting.

Any questions regarding the nominations process should be directed to Layne Gakos, General Council, at or 203-865-0587, ext. 129.